Glutinous Rice Balls? They aren’t, stupid!

Had a wonderful dinner at Yvonne’s place with Carina and Supra.

It was just darn hilarious when I mistaken “tang hoon” (vermicelli), for glutinous rice balls (tong yun) in hokkien yesterday night after the movies. I thought, wow, rice balls stuffed with peanuts and sesame seeds for dinner. Cool. Kinda missed the “Ah Bo Leng” in chinatown.

I was outrageously wrong. The whole gang burst into laughter after discovering the truth πŸ™‚

That goes to show one thing – my understanding of the Hokkien dialect is meagrely within acceptable limits. Hahhaa…Imagine I’m a doctor trying to talk to a Hokkien speaking patient in the emergency ward. I’m sure it would be very, very interesting. That is if I don’t end up killing him πŸ˜›

The dinner just now was sumptuous. Reminds me of home. Many thanks to Carina, Supra and Yvonne who prepared the meal. The “tang hoon” and chicken curry were superb. Too bad I didn’t snap any pictures. Otherwise those of you out there who haven’t been eating home cooked food will be green with envy seeing the spread. Hehhee…

Finishing my glass of Riesling vintage 2005 by Jacob’s Creek and the last piece of Sara Lee’s baked cheesecake. Hmm…probably I need to weigh myself later. Good night all!

7 thoughts on “Glutinous Rice Balls? They aren’t, stupid!

  1. Dr. Tan: Hallo Aunty… le ho boh?
    Patient: Ho ho ho…
    Dr Tan: Erm… uhm.. ah, Aunty, mai si ah! OK?
    Patient: Si? Ha mi si? CHOI! Lu sampat!
    Dr. Tan: Aunty, mai kik sim… lai, chiak ah bo leng!

    Hee hee… πŸ˜€

  2. Outrageous! No more comments about good food!

    Only thing you can comment about is bad S’pore food that you like. πŸ˜‰

    And I bet you think “kueh chap” is the internal organs of the chicken… πŸ˜‰

  3. Wow! Finally found another Riesling lover. Most of my Penang wine-counterparts never had Riesling since it is kinda rare or overly expensive here in Penang. One of the better tasting wine I’ve had. Sweet, smooth to the palate. Cheers!!!

    Come to Penang more often so we can culture you better on Hokkien πŸ˜‰

  4. Carine will teach you some Hokkien. She still remembers, despite years of LKY’s “Speak Mandarin, not Dialect” campaign.

    Brunello! Brunello! Brunello!

    Though that Valpolicella we had at lunch today wasn’t too bad.

  5. Erm, I believe it’s because Dr. M did not have such a campaign lah, we had our Bahasa Kebangsaan πŸ™‚ I only know enough Hokkien to have a decent conversation or to induce diarrhoea in native Hokkien speakers…

    MT: Tahuna Sauvignon Blanc 2004!! http://www.tahunawines.com
    I am guessing that the tropical fruit character may really be guava haha πŸ˜›

  6. Aissa: The next time you’re in Singapore, we can go wine tasting together πŸ˜€

    Bob: I’d prefer Brunello anytime πŸ˜‰

    Carina: Let’s go find Tahuna and confirm its guava-ness! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

