Bun Mang Vit, HCMC

Bun Mang Vit with SkinnyK

If you do not fancy bamboo shoots or duck meat – Bun Mang Vit is NOT for you. Truth be told, I found bamboo shoots quite disturbing until I started living in Vietnam. An acquired taste indeed.

SkinnyKhoi loves this duck and bamboo shoots rice noodle stall at 71/1 Mac Thi Buoi, District 1, HCMC. He was there two days in a row! But I guess DelicateRose didn’t enjoy the dishes as much as Skinny did.

What I really like here is the duck meat salad – just look at the glistening duck skin and the nice tender meat with a slight tinge of pink! I usually dip them in the savoury and sweet salad dressing but you can also dip them into the fish sauce on the side.

Xa Lach Vit

This is a really local vietnamese haunt and I haven’t seen any foreigners visiting the stall save for those who walked past it to get to Warda and Lac Thai. So be prepared to speak some vietnamese if you would like to get yourself something to eat here. Or bring a vietnamese friend with you – like what DelicateRose and I did.

And most importantly, get here before 12 noon. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Leave a Reply

