Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc, Marlborough, New Zealand 2009

I fell in love with new zealand sauvignon blancs six years ago when I first tasted one at NewAsiaBar in Singapore with a bunch of friends. We were so captivated by the alluring lychee aromas that we went out searching for the same bottle the following day after the party. And when I opened this bottle a few days ago over some Thai dinner with LiqLushLeanne, I was pleasantly surprised and thrilled when I discovered the lychee aroma that seemed to be more elusive these days 🙂

Appearance: Bright straw colour with pale rim.

Nose: Medium (+) intensity, pronounced aromas of lychee and pink guava, with distinctive new world gooseberry, herbaceous notes.

Palate/ Flavour: Dry, medium (+), crisp, refreshing acidity, low tannins and medium finish. Bursting with citrus (more lime than lemon) flavours and mineral notes. Prominent tastes of green apples and green papayas.

Overall: Absolutely wonderful with the sourish thai mango salad and spicy (mild) red curry with pork. Classic new zealand sauvignon blanc that’s value for money (I paid only USD16nett for a bottle).

2 thoughts on “Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc, Marlborough, New Zealand 2009

  1. Hi. I really enjoyed reading through your article!. Top quality information. I would have to suggest you to write posts even more regularly. Using this method, with this kind of a useful blog I think you will certainly rank higher in the search engines 🙂 . I also subscribed for your RSS feed. Carry on the very good work!

Leave a Reply

