Pipers Brook Vineyard, Gewurtztraminer 2004, Tasmania, Australia

Pipers Brook Vineyard, Gewurtztraminer 2004Appearance: Crystal clear pale meyer lemon core.

Nose: Pronounced kerosone/petrol and ripe lychee, melon, nectarine (maybe even wild honey?) aromas. I might be wrong but I thought there were hints of wood and yeast on the nose too.

Palate: The taste of sweet juicy green Anjou pears lingered in the somewhat medium (-) and spicy finish.  Oak and vanilla flavors definitely pretty forward on the palate but not overwhelmingly so. Medium (+) acidity.

Comments:  Sipped this without any food and went down surprisingly well (though my friend and I agreed later on that it was a tad heavy) after some delicious har cheong kai and beef hor fun dinner. I think I’m still biased towards the gewurtztraminer from alsace and germany 😛 But having said that, I’ll do this with a local popiah party anytime and chill it really really well!

Leave a Reply

