N.V. Lambrusco Dell’Emilia, Zonin, Italy

Lambrusco in the GlassVentricina, Orange, Baby Spinach and Cheddar Salad
It was my intention to have a relatively healthy dinner tonight but I gave in to the temptation of bright red, spicy, peppery and salty Ventricina when I saw it at the store just now. I guess it’s still not too bad considering the fact that it was just 100g of it (thinly sliced) on top of a bed of baby spinach and oranges with some vinaigrette dressing. Oh, there’s aged cheddar bits on top too. I figured a bottle of chilled Lambrusco wouldn’t hurt either. Hahaha. It was nothing to shout about – fizzy, fruit-forward, slightly off-dry with a touch of greenness at the end and a touch of Brett (marginally acceptable for me and I suspect it had to do with the cellaring conditions but only God knows) too: perfect for the Ventricina!

Leave a Reply

