Restaurante Elkano, Getaria

Elkanogrill is readyStartersThe tablePalo CortadoUntitledGrilled TurbotConsommeUntitledDidier Dagueneau Pur Sang 2007
an excellent restaurant but I thought they could use some help with the wine list. I love the Colosia Palo Cortado much better than the Tradicion and it was nice of the restaurant to pour us complimentary glasses of the fomer as a night cap. I think they are a serious threat to the Equipos Navazos Palo Cortado if they are ever sold in the same market in Asia. The consomme was good, as was the grilled Turbot and the bread. And I must say if anyone attempts to make a really decent Sauvignon blanc with the structure to age and carries superb acidity, they should take the 2007 Pur Sang as a benchmark before they even think about all the cat’s pee, gooseberry, or 3-MHA that is all too prevalent in the New World. The only problem is – Didier’s wines are never inexpensive. For me, life is way too short for bad wines, and I prefer to spend my calories on things that I wanna drink in my lifetime.

Leave a Reply

