A Series of Yalumba

FDR1A Cabernet Shiraz 2008

Click on the pic to view the whole set on Flickr!

This is probably my wine of the night: Deep purple-red; opaque. Lifted aromas of sweet dark berries, vanilla and cedar. Kirsch cherries, very ripe black fruits and dark cacao – pretty pronounced on the palate. Medium to medium+ acidity; medium+ length. Muscular but ripe tannins here. The most refined of all the cabernet-shiraz blends tasted and probably had the highest purity of fruit, good minerality and finesse (in my opinion anyway).

2009 Chard Farm The Tiger, Central Otago, New Zealand

Chard Farm The Tiger Pinot Noir, Central Otago 2009Bright alluring ruby red with a pale meniscus. Sweet cherries, mandarin peel, leafy, tones of coconut aromas on the nose with a tiny touch of Brett; cranberries and plenty of tart red fruits on the palate; med+ acidity and med+ finish with a slightly spicy aftertaste. Firm muscular tannins.

I didn’t think I would drink it this soon but I guess I didn’t want to brave the snow and chilly wind to get more reds yesterday? đŸ˜‰ Thank God the sun is shining brightly this morning!