Amarone della Valpolicella 2003 Lamberti, Veneto, Italy

Deep garnet with a brick-red rim. Ripe black berries, earthy, woodsy, medicinal nose (dried ginseng and chinese Rhizoma roots). Pretty similar flavors on the palate with grippy tannins. The first thing that really hit me was the bittersweet aftertaste. There was a streak of greenness in this concentrated red from the vineyards of Tenuta Pule but I suppose the medicinal components played a significant role here. Perfectly drinkable and likeable on cold, rainy winter days but not a very memorable Amarone I’m afraid. Given the vintage and the price, should I even ask for more?

Edited: Less than 12 hours later, the wine lost quite a lot of its initial aromas and the little complexity it possessed dissipated without a trace. AL’s response was “uninspiring and tasted just like any other mass-produced, forgettable european red. What’s so special about this wine?”. Well, nothing really. LOL!

Five Minutes Salad Brunch

Friday Brunch by mengteck
Friday Brunch, a photo by mengteck on Flickr.

Those were frozen fish fillet and all I needed to do was placing them in the oven for half an hour (ungoverned basically). Ideal for days when I don’t feel like cooking but desire something warm and relatively healthy. Assembling the plate should only take me 5 minutes with a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and a squeeze of lemon.